The 32nd Annual MLK Convocation is scheduled for Thursday, January 29, 2015. The venue is the Student Center Ballroom located on the corner of Courtland and Gilmer Streets. The doors will open at 3 p.m. and the event will began at 4 p.m. The 2015 award recipients for the MLK Torch of Peace and Hosea Williams for Community Activism will be announced. There will more information forthcoming. For more information, contact 404-413-1584.

The 11th Annual 2015 MLK Commemorative Series
During the month of January, Intercultural Relations will host the 11th annual MLK Commemorative Series scheduled for Tuesday, January 20 – Thursday, January 29, 2015. This series includes events that support Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s vision of social justice and civil rights for everyone.

If you have any questions concerning physical access or wish to request disability – related accommodations contact Saretha Pyant, Office of Disability Services at 404-413-1560 (Office), 404-413-1564 (TTY) or via email at For additional information about the MLK series events, contact 404-413-1584, email Tonya Cook.

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
Torch of Peace Award
In 1998, during the annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Convocation, Sampson Zewde entered and presented the Torch of Peace to Georgia State University President, Carl Patton. Zewde was born in Ethiopia and was forced to join the military at the age of 14. Seeing violence firsthand from both sides, he was determined to do something to spread the word about peace.

While on a world bike tour for peace, Mr. Zewde traveled over 34,000 miles and presented torches to advocate for peace along the way. He visited numerous U.S. cities including: Chicago, Washington, Oakland, Los Angeles, Seattle and Atlanta. Recipients of the original torch include: former United Nations Secretary General Javier Pérez de Cuéllar, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, Mrs. Winnie Mandela, Rev. Jesse Jackson, Ted Turner, and Carl Patton.

Inspired by Mr. Zewde, the University established the Torch of Peace awards to honor the life and legacy of Dr. King. The Torch of Peace awards honor GSU student, staff, faculty, alumni, and student organizations who continue to keep Dr. King’s dream alive. Award winners are committed to the teachings of Dr. King and strive to create a more tolerant, accepting, and socially just world.

Call for Nominations for the 2015 MLK Torch of Peace Awards deadline is Monday, October 20, 2014. Stay tuned for more information about the nomination process.

Hosea Williams Award for Community Activism
To honor the life and legacy of Hosea Williams, Tonya Cook conceived the idea of creating the Hosea Williams Awards for community activism in 2003. Each year during the MLK Convocation, the Hosea Williams Awards honor one individual and one organization that demonstrate a passion for giving back to the community. Award winners are purposeful risk takers who are courageous in their mission to make the world they live a better place.

Call for Nominations for the 2015 Hosea Williams Award for Community Activism deadline is Monday, October 13, 2014. Stay tuned for more information about the nomination process.

Twitter LIVE!

Twitter cannot show tweets right now. Please try again.